FAQ: Can You Drive A Boat Without A License In Illinois?

Do you need a boating license in Illinois if you are over 18?

Age Requirements All persons who are at least 12 years of age but less than 18 must either complete a boating safety course and have a Boating Safety Education Certificate, or be accompanied and under the direct control of a responsible person who is eighteen or older, in order to operate a PWC.

How old do you have to be to drive a boat in Illinois?

No person under 10 years of age may operate a motorboat, including personal watercraft (PWC). Age 10 years and less than 12 years of age may only operate under a parent or guardian’s direct control.

Can a 16 year old drive a boat alone in Illinois?

If requirements are met, children can operate motor boats in Illinois. Children at least age 10, less than age 12 – The child may operate the boat only if the child is accompanied by and under the direct control of a parent, guardian or a person age 18 or older who has been designated by the parent or guardian.

You might be interested:  Can I Use Regular Hydraulic Oil For Boat Steering?

Can you rent a boat without a license Illinois?

It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the business of operating a boat or boats carrying passengers for hire, or renting a boat or boats for hire without first having obtained a license so to do from the Department.

How long does a boating license last in Illinois?

The Illinois Boat Ed Course is valid for only 90 days from the time of registration and payment. If you are not able to complete this course within 90 days, the course will be automatically renewed for another 30 days. Your credit card will be charged 10 for each renewal.

Can passengers drink on a boat in Illinois?

You cannot operate a boat in Illinois with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher or while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or any combination “which renders [you] incapable of safely operating any watercraft.” The criminal consequences, as you may imagine, are severe.

Who needs a boating license?

As of January 1, 2020, California law requires all boaters 35 years of age or younger to carry the Boater Card. All boaters regardless of age are required to obtain the card by 2025.

How much is a boating license in Illinois?

You can obtain your Illinois Boating Certificate in 3 easy steps: Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam. Study the Illinois Boating Safety Course and pass the final exam. Print a temporary card right away and receive your permanent card in the mail within 3-5 weeks.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: Can You Repair A Tear In Boat Canvas?

At what age do you not need a boating license?

Anyone born on or after January 1, 1989 and under 21 years of age regardless of date of birth. Safe Boating Certification is mandatory for children from 12 through 17 years old. Under the age of 16. 16 and 17 year olds who will operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC).

Can a 14 year old drive a Seadoo?

Youths, aged 12 to under 16 years of age may only operate a boat with a motor up to 40 horsepower unsupervised. In order to operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC) commonly called a Jet Ski or Sea Doo, operators must be at least 16 years of age, and be certified with their PCOC.

Can a 12 year old operate a boat?

Persons 12 to 15 years of age may operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including PWCs, if they are supervised on board by a person at least 18 years of age and in possession of his/her California Boater Card.

Can a 13 year old drive a boat in Indiana?

Indiana requires that children be at least 15 years old and receive boating education. Those 16 years old or older must have a valid driver’s license to operate a boat with more than 10 horsepower.

Do you need boat insurance in Illinois?

Despite the fact that the state of Illinois does not require boat owners to purchase insurance, most people realize the importance of doing so. Just as insurance is important for your car, you should think the same way in terms of protecting your boat.

You might be interested:  Often asked: Can You Put A Boat In Your Business Name?

Do you need a title to register a boat in Illinois?

In Illinois, you must have an Illinois Certificate of Number (registration), expiration decals, and Certificate of Title to operate a vessel legally on public waters. Exceptions to the requirement to register recreational vessels include: Unpowered vessels, including canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *